

PROGRAM

Moderator: Ms Rose O'Donovan

Provisional timing (CET)	Agenda item	Speaker/Panellists	
8.30 - 9.30	Connection opens		
Morning session 1	Opening remarks	European Commission Executive Vice-President Frans Timmermans	
	The Commission policy initiative on plants derived from certain new genomic techniques Message from the Slovenian Presidency of the Council of the European Union	Commissioner for Health and Food Safety Stella Kyriakides Mr Jože Podgoršek, Minister for Agriculture, Forestry and Food Professor Dr. Virginijus Šikšnys	
	Keynote speech	Institute of Biotechnology Vilnius University	
10.20 – 10.35		Break	
Morning session 2	Panel discussion: Enabling NGT products to deliver on sustainable benefits in the agri-food sector Including Q&A	Keynote address by Mr Julien Denormandie, Minister for Agriculture and Food, France (Incoming Council Presidency) Panellists: Mr Herbert Dorfmann, Member of the European Parliament Mr Garlich von Essen, Secretary General, Euroseeds Ms Diana Lenzi, President, CEJA Mr Jan Plagge, President, IFOAM Organics Europe Dr Dirk Zimmerman, Greenpeace Mr Pierre Bascou, Director, DG Agriculture and Rural Development, European Commission	
12.15 - 13.45		Lunch break	
Afternoon session 1	Panel discussion: Ensuring safety with proportionate risk assessment Including Q&A	Panellists: Ms Anja Hazekamp, Member of the European Parliament Mr José Antonio Sobrino Mate, Subdirector General, Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, Spain Dr Ricarda Steinbrecher, Board member, ENSSER Dr Ralf Wilhelm, Director, Julius Kühn Institute Dr Bernhard Url, Executive Director, EFSA	
15.15 - 15.30	Break		



Afternoon session 2	Panel discussion: Engaging consumers and empowering them to make informed choices Including Q&A	Panellists: Ms Irène Tolleret, Member of the European Parliament Dr Dietmar Vybiral, Federal Ministry of Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection, Austria Dr Trine Antonsen, GenØk Centre for Biosafety Ms Heike Moldenhauer, Secretary General, ENGA Ms Nikita Sajeev, Co-founder, Genesprout Initiative Dr Guy Van den Eede, Acting Director, Joint Research Centre, European Commission
17.00 – 17.15	Closing remarks	Ms Claire Bury, Deputy Director General, DG Health and Food Safety, European Commission